Right then, I've been doing a few practice gunfights just to get my sea-legs with 5150, and something has come up several times and I'm curious how you all handle it. Let's say an enemy figure ducks back. If he's still ducked and it's my turn, I move one of my chaps so that the enemy is no longer behind cover and then take a shot at him (I assume that's allowed); I score another duck back, but there's really nowhere for the enemy figure to go for cover, as all areas are covered by my other figures. What happens? Hope that makes sense.
A second duck back question: what if I decide to charge a ducked back enemy - I assume he wouldn't be able to take a shot at me. Once engaged is there any advantage for the charger? Seems there should be, since the enemy was busy skulking and then gets jumped. I've thought of making the enemy fight at -1 rep, but I'd love suggestions if someone has a better idea.
How would you handle it in real life? BadGuy1 is shooting at YOU, so you "duck back" behind cover. BadGuy2 runs around to flank you. How do YOU know it's #2 and not #1? (remember, you ducked behind cover and can't see them anymore)
So BadGuy2 flanks you, now you can see him (In-Sight check). Say you score another duck back result, it's not a pile-on to the first one, it's a new resolution to a new round of firing. In my games, you duck back from the guy that's currently shooting at you. You don't know if the first guy (BadGuy1) is still where he was, if he's the guy now shooting at you or if he ran away...so you deal with the threat that's happening NOW.
That may mean that you duck back to find cover from #2 and then expose yourself to fire from #1 (if he didn't move and if he can see you as you move out of #2's line of sight). Oh wait, that triggers an In-Sight test for #1.
Post by Ed the Two Hour Wargames Guy on Jan 21, 2020 0:24:44 GMT
Duck Back just means you can't be seen by the cause of the Duck Back. If someone comes around the flank, you see them and it's an Action or In Sight. Now, Hunker Down that is in some rules. You're toast, you surrender