Amphibious Landing Questions Mar 17, 2020 13:14:45 GMT
Post by fenris07 on Mar 17, 2020 13:14:45 GMT
Hey Guys, I'm attempting to do a Marine landing against the Japanese and I'm a bit confused on how i set this up.
1. Do I have sections 7,8 and 9 the water with 4,5 and 6 being the beach head where i place the 3 PEFs? Do i set the resolved PEF units in the middle of the sections even if they are out of sight from the landing or in sight and preferably in cover as close as i can to the beach? The reason I ask is if they are in sight of my landing thats potentially going to be a hell of a lot of in sights going down when the boat ramps drop lol.
2. I rolled all three PEFs 1d6 successes which meant I had to wait till I landed but once I landed and unloaded I reached one of the PEFs. I'm right on the other side of a ridge of it and it turned into an enemy squad with barbed wire but I'm already too close to put barbed wire down. Should I have stopped as soon as I landed and re-rolled for the PEFs before I actually moved up on the beach?
3. How do you guys place the mines if those are rolled? Do you pretend you don't know they are there and charge the beach straight ahead? Also it says once you get within 6 inches you roll and if it equals as close as you are then you get hit. So do you do your full move and where you stop if its within 6 inches it goes off or stop at the closest point during your movement and blow it?
4. The amphibious landing says its just the means to the mission not the mission itself. So do i act like a regular mission and put another 3 PEFs down like i would for an attack mission on top of the 3 PEFs i put down for the beach defenses? Victory if i can break through and get my men with less casualties then I've inflicted off the other side of the table?
I just picked up the Compendium and wow does it have a lot of content and new rules and tables! I've been a little overwhelmed trying to add all the cool new stuff so I think i'm going to have to slow down and just add one new thing at a time. My first attempt at a beach landing was kind of all over the place so with some clarifications I hope I can clean it up and run it better this next time. I'll write another battle report for my next run when hopefully I'm doing it right!